Wipe a mobile device

When a device is lost, stolen, or assigned to a new user, you may want to wipe the device to remove any personal or sensitive information.

There are two methods for wiping a device, depending on whether the device is enrolled or only discovered through the Exchange server.

Enrolled devices are wiped through the Mobility tool.

Discovered devices are wiped through the EAS server.

Wiping an enrolled device from the inventory

There are three wipe options for managed devices:

Selective wipe/Unmanage.Removes all the agent settings on the device. For example, a selective wipe would remove app restrictions or WiFi passwords. It does not uninstall the LANDESK agent.

Selective wipe/Delete. Removes the agent settings and also deletes the device from the inventory.

Wipe. Removes all personal files and applications from the device and restores the device to its factory settings. This option removes the LANDESK agent from the device.

When you send a wipe command, it is sent through the notification service (either GCM or APNS depending on whether it is an Android or an iOS device). The command is sent immediately and cannot be canceled.

If the device is unreachable when the command is sent, the notification service caches the command temporarily. If the device comes online again while the command is cached, the command is delivered to the device and it is wiped. If the device does not come online within 24 hours, the wipe command is not delivered.

To execute the wipe command

1.Find the device in the Network view.

2.Right-click it and click Wipe.... Then select the type of wipe you want to perform. You are prompted to proceed with the command.

Wiping a discovered device using the EAS server

On a Microsoft Exchange server, the wipe is associated with both the user and the device. Once the wipe command is sent to the server, the device's status in the Mobility management tool is set to "Wipe pending". The next time the device attempts to log in, the wipe command will execute and the device will be wiped immediately. Because the wipe does not actually occur until the next time the device logs in, the wipe command can be canceled at any time prior to the device check-in.

To execute the wipe command

1.Find the device in the Network view.

2.Right-click it and click EAS Wipe. You are prompted to proceed with the command.

When the device is wiped, it is also removed from the inventory.

To cancel a wipe command

To cancel a Wipe command (only available on devices being wiped through EAS), right-click on the device and select Cancel wipe.

 


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other