> Administration > Core synchronization > Automatically synchronizing items

Automatically synchronizing items

Before using auto sync, configure which Management Suite components you want to synchronize.

Configuring auto sync

You can enable auto sync on individual items, but if an item's component doesn't have synchronization enabled, that item won't sync. Disabling synchronization on a component doesn't change the auto sync flag on flagged items, so if you disable and then later on enable synchronization, items you originally enabled auto sync for will resume synchronization.

To select the auto sync components you want enabled
  1. Click Tools > Administration > Core synchronization.
  2. Right-click the Components tree item and click Edit auto sync components.
  3. Move the components you want to sync to the Auto sync components list.
  4. Click OK.

You can also enable or disable auto sync by right-clicking a component and clicking Auto sync.

When you select a component in the Components tree, you can see synchronization activity for that component.

Enabling auto sync for an item

Synchronize an item automatically by right-clicking it in a component's tree view and clicking Auto sync. If the item's sync component isn't enabled, you'll be prompted to enable that component. The synchronization for this item will happen at the next synchronization interval. If you again right-click that item, you'll see a check mark next to Auto sync in the menu.

As with on-demand synchronization, auto sync items appear in the same location in the console. However, auto sync items are read-only on target cores and they can't be edited or deleted. Each time you change an auto sync item on the source core, the item gets synchronized to the target cores. If you want console users to be able to delete an auto synced item, just turn auto sync off. That won't remove the item from target cores, but those target items will become editable.

Synchronizing scheduled tasks

Synchronized scheduled task data doesn't include the task start time. If you synchronize a scheduled task, the only way to run it on the target server is to right-click it and click Start now. Since synchronized items are read only, you can't edit it on the target core and add a new start time. As a workaround, you can use the copy to core feature. The task still won't include a start time on the target core, but this way the task will be editable there.

 


Was this article useful?    

The topic was: